New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

NEED HELP TO ZAP APP

Started by Jkelley, August 15, 2012, 03:51:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jkelley

I'm noticing Apptaisia appearing in a patch of my zo's?  How do I kill the unwanted bugger.

And yes I'm new at the hobby

bt

You can try a syringe with lemon juice.  Inject it into the stem of the aiptasia.  I had some success with that.

But I've had more success with Aiptasia-X.

You could try a peppermint shrimp as well, but they're hit and miss.

Hookup

I use peppermints, carribean only...

If they get big, i mix a sludgy solution of KALKWASSER and tank water, mix-in a cube or two of food (frozen), shut all flow off inthe tank and feed it to them... kills em good... most LFS's who dose KALK should be able to give you 1TBSP of it for free...

As my wrasse has developed a taste for shrimp, i'm going to try a file-fish next... heard good things.

Jkelley

Thanks guys for the advice.  Lemon juice first, and should citric acid be to weak I will call for peppermint shrimp reinforcement armed with Aiptasia X.

Will these chemicals, or KALK change my parameters drastically?

Yup I'm a noob

Darth

Quote from: Jkelley on August 16, 2012, 09:48:21 AM
Thanks guys for the advice.  Lemon juice first, and should citric acid be to weak I will call for peppermint shrimp reinforcement armed with Aiptasia X.

Yup I'm a noob
no the paste wil be fine, be careful with the aptasia if you don't get it its gonna spread, don't try and pull it off, its gonna spread, aptasia x never worked for me, it does kill the aptasia but I also think it causes it to release it spores and repopulate

Jkelley

Quoteno the paste wil be fine

What is this paste you speak of Darth?

Darth

Quote from: Jkelley on August 16, 2012, 09:48:21 AM