New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

HOWDIE!!!

Started by Jkelley, September 11, 2012, 08:52:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jkelley

I'm looking to challenge myself to a larger cube build (60gal) up from my 29 gallon cube. I'm still a newbie and was wondering how you experts would approach the 60 cube: with, or with out overflow?

SAltwater

Greatwhite

WITH overflow - always.  The less junk you have to put in your tank, the better.  Heaters, skimmer, yadda yadda yadda - all belong in the sump, out of sight.

Get the tank, stand and all the equipment that you will need.  Put it where you want it, and leave it there for a week without water. Then when you are sure that's where you want it - start filling it.  There's no moving it once it's full.

If you are able to run it with all the equipment with your 29 running at the same time, do that.  Get your cycle done without fish, and then once it's stable, move fish and stuff in there, and then you can decommission the 29.

Jkelley

Nice, should I start with new substrate? or can I move that over with my current live rock?

Hookup

You should research the benefits of Overflows a bit further.  There are lots of good sites/threads simply by searching here, or on google, reef central etc..

One main benefit that is often missed is the surface skimming attributes of overflow designs.... and the concept of low-flow or high-flow sumps needs to be looked at as well.

Saltwater systems are mini-ecco systems that are unstable if left alone.  The "hobby" is keeping it stable.  The reward is a beautiful system with healthy, growing corals and fish.

The successful hobbyist needs to have an understanding of the bio-load, nutrient processing, inputs and outputs of their system as well as basic water chemistry, lighting, photosynthesis and many more things to ensure that he/she can keep the unstable mini-eccosystem balanced.