New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Hello OVAS

Started by bneloy, May 25, 2015, 11:41:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bneloy

HI All,

This is great to find a platform of like-minded people like this. I am new to Ottawa and in this country. My job brought me here and I am loving to be here.
Being a hobbyist for long time and it was hard when i dismantle my setup to come here. I had a planted discus tank and a planted nano tank (Full with red cherry shrimps and 5 neon tetras).
So I started a new tank here but there is no harm to say that I am failing to understand the water chemistry here.
My tank is a month old now, but I am not being able to control algae. My plants are not healthy, they are getting covered by layers of algae. Plants: Small Hairgrass (The thick one for carpet), Long hairgrass (in the corner of rocks), Anubias, Fern..

There are lots of chlorine in the tap water, so I am using water conditioner. I  am using DIY LED light. For substrate I have used Fluval. NO CO2 yet, as the plants I am using are not very CO2 prone.
Appreciate to get guidance from the experts.

Cheers
Neloy

missavgp

Welcome to Ottawa and OVAS.  :) Please share some pictures as well.

A couple of questions:
Which water conditioner are you using, how long are your lights on and at what height from the tank?

Ottawa water has chlorine and chloramine in it so you need to make sure that your water conditioner deals with both. I also found I was having an algae issue at one point and I needed to raise my lights to alleviate the problem.
Mom of boys. Less drama than girls, but harder to keep alive

exv152