New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Ammonia or nitrite poisoning?

Started by Caitiepi, September 10, 2015, 08:17:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Caitiepi

Hey there,

I am fairly new to the hobby so be gentle :p
My aquarium has been running about a little over a month and I am below my maximum bio load. Yesterday I tested my ph and it was around 7-7.6. My desired ph is anywhere between 6.5-6.9. I did a 10% water change in my 46 gallon aquarium yesterday after cleaning the gravel. (Yes I treated the water before adding it to the aquarium) Today I have noticed that my Kribensis is gasping and staying around the bottom of the aquarium and not overly enthused during feeding while all my other fish appear fine. From what I have read these are classic signs of ammonia or nitrite poisoning. Today I have done another 10% water change. All I'm wondering is if I'm on the right track or if I'm way off on how to fix the ph.
I have looked around online but everybody seems to have different answers and this forum came highly recommended. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!!
90 gallon community tank:
Red Rainbowfish
Boesemani Rainbowfish
Roseline Sharks
Rainbow Shark
Rosy Danios
Zebra Danios
Siamese Algae Eater
Electric Blue Acara
Green Severums
Rotkeil Severum
Black Convict Cichlid

bitterman

Do you have test kits? You should get an Ammonia and Nitrite test kits.

Was you cycle finished? I suspect your cycle is not complete and your Nitrite is spiking but without test kits, hard to say. Ammonia could be high also depending on your water change schedule. %10 week is most the time not enough. If you have a trusted friend with an aquarium, you could get some seeded filter media to also help rectify the issue faster.