New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Hello Everyone :)

Started by wading_in, March 03, 2017, 09:14:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wading_in

Hello Hello!

Here to introduce myself and meet everyone. I am new to the planted tank life and looking forward to joining in on discussions and getting some great advice/info from you guys. I have been thinking of going large scale aquarium for a long time (like years here people) jumping from 0 to 90gal in a single leap.

A DIYer by nature I have been doing research and endless google searches on do's and dont's, tips and tricks and thought I might get a better insight if I could get some face to face time with seasoned Aquarium fanatics :)

I made my decision 2 months ago while browsing Kijiji and saw a 90gal w stand for $350 Incl Marineland 360 Filter all media a BIG bag of pool filter sand and some fantastic Granite slabs. He was also offering 8 yellow labs and a mature pleco but I had nowhere to house them so declined.

The Stand was a DIY made from Cedar (blech soft wood) and looked like an unfinished box. The doors were falling apart, there was water damage et al. I got the set up delivered and went to work "fixing it up
Sanded, conditioned, stained and reworked with some deco trim and I have the final product with which I am super pleased All in all an additional 40$ was spent to complete this project (sorry for the blurry images)
Just an FYI I live in a 2 bdrm and it is the middle of winter so all of this was accomplished over 5 days in my kitchen.
I have a VERY understanding Hubby.

Now it is time to get started on the real work.