New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

NOT GOOD: didn't cycle my tank well enough first?? A=.25, No2=5+, No3=5-10ppm

Started by pnadon, March 06, 2017, 09:47:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pnadon

Found my tank is way off balance. I started my new tank and went with PetSmart and their strips. Then added fish.
Then I found Big Al's and their tests were more accurate.

But now I'm stuck. As per the staff at Big Al's, I started with STABILITY yesterday (Sun). Thankfully it has brought my ammonia way down to .25.
I have my own API Master Test Kit. My Nitrite is still wild (5+) and my Nitrate is too low (5-10ppm). pH is high too. Do I just stick it out with the STABILITY? Is there something else I can do?

Freshwater, 46g bow front. 6 Bloodfin Tetras, 5 Gertrudae Rainbow. Some live plants.
http://i.imgur.com/8JUvsbU.jpg

Fish look really happy! Dang it!

Mike L

How  long has the tank been up and running? If your not using prime to condition water for clorimine control, get some as it neutralizes ammonia and nitrite. Do a 50% water change as well.
Do tests before and  about an hour after water change. Tell us results. What filter are you using?
Mike

Gilbotron

Agreed.  Do water changes and as often as needed.  You could add some pre-seeded media to put in the filter/tank to help the cycle jump start.  Do you have another tank with established cycle you can take media from?  Also, lots of live plants like floating plants will help stabilize numbers while cycle establishes.  If you need floating plants or lava rock (seeded with bacteria) I always have tons - just pm me.

Also, check the date on the stability.  If its past due or smells bad, it could be just adding more ammonia to the tank (the bacteria dies after a while).

Al

Not a good situation, for sure.