New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Newbie question - Cycling

Started by hamstercaster, February 16, 2007, 11:48:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hamstercaster

Hi, I have search the forums for Cycling and came accross a few messages but they didn't answer all of my questions or some where somewhat confusing so I'll be asking you pros a few questions if you don't mind.  Note that this is coming from a complete newbie that would rather trust people on a forum than many kids working in a pet store that can't differentiate a Cat Fish from a Siamese Cat lol.  Note that I am aware that there are very knowledgeable people working in some pet shops... and I'm only joking.. to some extent.  And I actually plan on visiting at least a couple pet shops this weekend and one on my lunch break actually downtown Ottawa.

I have just acquired a 55g tank and it looks like we will be putting cichlids in it.  More precisely Lake Malawi cichlids but it's not yet a definite choice.  It is my choice but the tank was my wife's Valentine's Day/Birthday present so she will have a say... or THE say when it comes to the type of fishes that will go in.

Now I have heard and read conflicting things on how to properly cycle a new tank.  The store I went to told me to by gold fishes at 6 for 1$.. which I presume are feeders.  I have read on the internet (some links coming from this forum) not to use these fishes as they are more often than not afflicted with diseases and are very poorly cared for... It's been suggested to use Danios or barbs... Which one is true