Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

New Angelfish acting listless

Started by MikeM, June 30, 2007, 12:18:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MikeM

Hi everyone.  I'm new to the hobby, and just finished a fish-less cycle on my 75 G.  I stocked today with six angelfish, five oto cats, five glowlight danios, and three clown loaches.  The otos, danios, and loaches seem to have made themselves at home right away.  The otos happily slurping the small amounts of algae that had formed on the plants and the tank walls, the danios were shoaling nicely in the middle of the tank, and the loaches were feasting on the ample population of pond snails.  The angels however, bunched together down by the intake for my canister filter and haven't really moved from there much.  Occasionally one or two will wander to the other end of the tank but they never seem to go more than about half way to the surface, and are mostly keeping very close to the bottom, dragging their fins in the gravel (2 - 3 mm, smooth, so I'm not too worried about their fins).  In all my reading when I was considering angelfish, they mostly seem to be described as a mid-upper tank dweller, so I'm concerned there's something making them uncomfortable.