Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Need to know how to make sure my 4 little corys are getting enough food.

Started by Shady Lady, September 21, 2007, 05:08:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shady Lady

I have lost 2 already, within 3 days apart. The angelfish are real gluttons, I have started feeding small discs at night, but I am not sure this is enough. Is there susch a thing as a little nook they can feed from, so the angels can't get to it?[/i]
The guy at the pet shop said that I should make sure that all decorations are vaccumed under, could be a bacteria. I am new at this, I did a fishless cycle before  I added 3 angelfish, 2 weeks later I added 3 more, (30 gallon tank) the 4 corys & 1 bristlenose pleco are the latest additions. The corys are copper (2) & Sterbai (2)
I initially lost 1 pepper cory & 1 copper. My tank is 2 months old- I started addind fish 1 month ago.The corys have been in since Sept. 9/07

MikeM

Sorry to hear about your corys.  :(  They're industrious little guys.  The guy at the LFS has a point, because cory cats like to dig through the gravel for goodies, if the gravel is dirty, they can be exposed to all kinds of nasty bacteria.  But it doesn't sound like your tank's been up long enough to be all that dirty.  What are your water parameters like (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate)?  What is your water change regimen like?  Each time you add fish, you increase the bioload, which can cause an ammonia spike.  6 angels, 4 corys, and a bn pleco is a pretty high bioload for a 30 in the long run, as angels get quite large and aggressive as they age.