Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Temperature Mistake

Started by presto, October 02, 2007, 07:21:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

presto

Hi Everyone,
I have been keeping my 20 gallon tank at 27 degrees for the last 7 months. I recently did a water change and the tank temperature became too cold(tested my new python system) so I increased the temperature on my thermometer by turning the nob just a touch. I have just come home to find the tank is at 35 degrees!  I think it has been this temperature for at least 2 days.

I have just done a water change and brought the temperature down to 30 degrees for now but my fish have been panicked for hours now.

My questions are
1) Are my rummynose tetras, red-eye tetras, ottocats, and sterbai cory's permanently damaged. I heard you can sterilize fish at high temperatures.

2) Is there anything I can do to help them recover from the 8 degree change up and down over the last 2 days?

3) Any suggestions on a moderately priced heater that doesn't fluctuate 8 degrees from a small adjustment?

I appreciate any advice the forum can offer me.

Thanks,
Chris P.

Aquaviewer

Quote from: presto on October 02, 2007, 07:21:22 PM
Hi Everyone,
I have been keeping my 20 gallon tank at 27 degrees for the last 7 months. I recently did a water change and the tank temperature became too cold(tested my new python system) so I increased the temperature on my thermometer by turning the nob just a touch. I have just come home to find the tank is at 35 degrees!  I think it has been this temperature for at least 2 days.

I have just done a water change and brought the temperature down to 30 degrees for now but my fish have been panicked for hours now.

My questions are
1) Are my rummynose tetras, red-eye tetras, ottocats, and sterbai cory's permanently damaged. I heard you can sterilize fish at high temperatures.