Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Plumbing questions

Started by Brine, November 07, 2007, 09:27:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brine

I would like to design a filtration system for my 90G. I have no experience with the plumbing aspect though. i.e. where should the shut offs be? Do I need shut offs? What kind of materials are the best? Where do I get them? How do you prime the pump if you need to? Here is a schematic of what I have in mind. It is essentially a sump above the tank. The flow would be from some kind of yet to be designed internal overflow box, out and into a fluidized bed filter then into the pump and up to a sump above the tank and then gravity feed back into the tank, perhaps through a spray bar or something.
Anyone that has any comments or knowledge PLEASE post something here. Also if there are threads/websites I should visit post them too.
Thanks,
Brian

[attachment deleted by admin]

dan2x38

What is your idea to feed the water to the sump? The drain to the 90gal? How much flow are you looking for? I think you saw what I do for my plant filter something like that can work. The tricky part is designing the selfve for the sump...
Voltaire:
"I may not agree with what you have to say,
but I'll defend to the death your right to say it."

groupie02

Brine, when adding a sump, one thing that you want to make sure is that you do not flood the room when the power goes out or if the overflow gets blocked by something. It's also a good idea to ensure that you can completely remove your sump from the loop either for maintenance or if some issue comes up.  True union valves, ball or gate valves, one way check valves are often used for the plumbing.