Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Algae and driftwood

Started by Jeff1192, November 02, 2008, 09:03:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff1192

So I've been running pressurized CO2 and EI dosing for about 2 months now. My algae issues are getting better but I'm still having problems with BBA and hair algae....but only on my 2 pieces of driftwood. I have one small piece that gets some BBA on it but not much and I can easily scrape it off. But the big piece (and it's big....see my gallery) gets lots of it, especially where my spraybar hits it. I'm thinking about changing things up a bit in the tank and taking out the large piece and replacing it with another small one. Will this resolve the algae problem....or just move it somewhere else?

Jeff
17 Gallon Seapora Crystal:: Cherry shrimp and red crystal shrimp

90 Gallon:: p. acei itunji, p. elongatus chewere, p. Saulosi, cyno zebroides jalo reef

"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf"
                        - George Orwell

jetstream

Algae won't just disappear by itself and you need to remove it by mechanical means. Green water algae will died down (disappeared) after you corrected the problem. So, you need to clean it out first and see it still come back! Just my $0.02. Good luck! :)

Jeff1192

I realize that I need to mechanically remove it, that's what I've been doing. But it only come back on the driftwood. That's why I'm wondering if since I can't completely remove it from the driftwood (because of cracks and crevasses) that by removing the driftwood completely from the tank should that solve the algae problem. Like I said I've tweaked things with lights and ferts and the driftwood is pretty much the only spot that I keep getting algae.

Thanks,

Jeff

90 Gallon:: p. acei itunji, p. elongatus chewere, p. Saulosi, cyno zebroides jalo reef