Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Suffering fishies :-(

Started by aminah83, January 13, 2009, 11:33:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aminah83

Hi,

I am still a bit new to the cichlid scene and am wondering if someone can help me out.

My testing levels are as follows and I am sure there is somethinh seriously wrong.

PH            6.2 ish
Nitrate      0.1 ish
Ammonia   2.4 ish

What would you say the approx. desired levels are for fish like yellow labs, jack dempsey's, etc.

Any help would be Suuuuuper! Thank you in advance and I hope posting this to here is ok. :-S

Aminah

Severum

Hey,

You have posted in the wrong forum. This needs to go in the freshwater discussion. I am sure a moderator will move it shortly.

You will get some great advice in there.

All the best.
Regards,
Steve Everum

"We like people for their qualities, but love them for their defects."

120 gallon reef

aminah83

Oops. I had a feeling but wasn't sure and am in a panick. Found the link and posted there. Thank you for the guidance! (I'm still a 'fry') ;-)

Fish Doctor

That's true, you are in the wrong forum.
Look like you have african and american together.

Malawi Lake have a high alkaline content, having a pH value of 7.0 to 9.0 in their waters.

Ideal pH value  8.00.

Nitrates are alway's in the water. you need to keep them under 20ppm.
Ammonia should be at zero along with nitrites.

Best not to overstocked tank which also results in higher nitrate
production.

Add extra HOB or Canister filter, and cleaning gravel.

dan2x38

This is a new tank? What fish are in there? What size? This tank is cycling and you need to get some used media from a filter off someones tank to help your fish at this point. What filter do you have?
Voltaire:
"I may not agree with what you have to say,
but I'll defend to the death your right to say it."

remiry95