Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

best SW lighting?

Started by salvini55, March 10, 2009, 03:25:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

salvini55

what do you think is the best 48 inch MH and T5 combo for under $700?

nissannx

a diy one. I have 4x48inch hydroponic t5 with two reflectors. i run 2x10 000 2x actinics. I'm also in the process of mounting 2x metal halide in the middle. all for well under $700

Hookup

If your tank is less than 24" deep (or 24"deep) then an all T5 system is the best, in my opinion... as for the "best combo" which is your actual question.. srry.. no idea.. I did a DIY

bitterman

Not saying this is the "best SW light", and I'm pretty new to SW... so take this as you see the info....

After seeing how efficient the Lumen Bright Mini Reflector are on the 36" 50 gallon sw setup I am doing for my son, I would use 2 (250's) or 3 (175's) on a 48" tank with either 175 or 250 watt MH and then supplement with some t5ho actinic's front and back of the tank.. If you went 3, it would give great results, but be a tight fit. With 3 175's use the suggestions from the article below for height above the water (the nice thing about these lights) and not worry so much about heat compared to other MH Setups due to the higher mounting height.

One thing to be aware of is you mount the lumen bright reflectors pretty high off the water so you would need a tall canopy above the tank. I built my sons canopy 24" tall.

Lumen Bright Article

Bruce

Hookup

+1 lumenbright  - I use one, again 24" tall canopy, (bulb is at 17" above the water surface), and they are amazingly bright... and for bulbs, the 14k pheonix bulbs are all the rage....

salvini55

Great so DIY lighting it is. Which ballast would you recommend for the phoenix 14k 250 watts x 2?

anybody wanna share there DIY setups with me... teach me the secrets lol!

bitterman