Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Does a sumps water height change?

Started by Quatro, May 24, 2010, 11:51:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Quatro

Hey,

I've been working on a central system with a common sump on the floor.  I just did a test and it is working ok at maximum flow.  One thing I noticed that seems odd, the water height in the tanks will lower by 1/2" and the sump will raise.  Then the tanks will raise and the sump will lower.  It keeps cycling like that.  Is it normal?  Thanks

dan2x38

I am no physics prof. but I am betting it has to do with the pressure created by increase in volume. When that occurs it would have more force so a little faster drain. Hence the flip side for sump decreasing. Grasping at straws but it sounds good... LOL

With this project I think you are the one who will have the answers your cutting new trail.
Voltaire:
"I may not agree with what you have to say,
but I'll defend to the death your right to say it."

redbelly

No that is definately not normal.

Sounds like you overflow MAY be cycling between a full syphon thne breaking, then full syphon....

What size overflow do you have and what is your return pump?

nelson

I was thinking it may be the same thing.....air lock.  Does that make me almost as smart as you Patrick ;)

Quatro

It is a 1.5" pipe (setup like a durso overflow). 
The return pump is a Mag18 (based on height I would say 1200 - 1300 gph)

The overflow pipe is sucking a lot of air.  It comes in on the side of the sump under the water level and is belching air bubbles constantly.  I'm making a change tonight to the sump water level.

redbelly

A single 1.5" drain?
You should always have 2.

That return pump is HUGE!
My return pump is 1700 GPH @ 0' Head and is pumping up with at least 15' of head pressure, feeding a fuge and I still have it throttled back by over half with a 4' internal coast to coast.

What overflow style do you use?