Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Sand for my tank

Started by ottawa11, May 25, 2011, 05:17:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ottawa11

Hey guys,

I've been thinking of switching to sand for my 29 gallon FW tank. I'm just wondering where can I get sand that won't cost me much in the pocket.Also,  will play sand be useful in a FW tank?

Thanks

dan2x38

Merkley (sp) Building Supplies just off of Scott St. on Bayswater sell tons of sands and gravel for dirt (no pun intended) cheap. I bought a bag enough to do 2 tanks or more for $18. I rinsed it and my fish did great in it for years.

If you are planning to do plants sand is not the best choice. Some people use playground sand but I have no experience with it. I remember there is an issue with some type/s of that sand but forget what it was. It was discussed on here search the forums maybe.
Voltaire:
"I may not agree with what you have to say,
but I'll defend to the death your right to say it."

Feivel

A little long but absolutely free,

Go to the dollar store and get a strainer for the park, kids section bundled with other shovels and sand toys. While your playing with your child at the park, strain the sand and you will get some small size rock. pull out the bigger ones you dont like and voila. obviously you must rinse it out untill nothing floats out of it.
i have picked up a 5 gallon pail from the park and its been in my tank now for a few months now no problems. plants seem ok with it too. 

hope this helps :)
(merkley would probably be MUCH quicker)
Cheers
Seb

Fishnut

If you do go to Merkley, they keep odd hours, so call ahead of time.  They also have no concept of how to use their products in aquariums.  You're specifically looking for Silica Sand.  I have #10 Silica in my tanks.  It's my personal preference because the smaller stuff is so lite that it gets sucked into the gravel cleaner too easily.