Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Cost effective light replacement?

Started by keansor, April 30, 2007, 12:36:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

keansor

My BF and I are new to fish keeping and we inherited a 30 gallon aquarium (36 inches long) when a family member moved. We really want to have live plants, but I'm unsure of the lights that we got with the aquarium, and need some help. The canopy (? I think that is what the light housing is called) is about 30 inches long. The actual light is housed in a white plastic trough about a foot long. There is a dual socket fixture (Leviton) in the middle with what looks like two elongated incandescent light bulbs and a very faded sticker that says "something something (illegible) maximum 25 watt". Part of the white housing appears to be burned from the heat of the bulbs, but they are still working. As a total newbee wanting to start up our first tank the "right" way, I guess my question is what is the best and most cost effective way to replace the light fixture so that I can at least grow low light plants (assuming that the existing lights are not adequate, which I am)? My bf is quite handy, so DIY projects are fine. Many thanks for all of your help, and I am really looking forward to actually bringing home some fish!

babblefish1960

Welcome to the OVAS club website. I shall begin by suggesting that there really isn't a "right way" so much as there are several ways to approach a problem. The unique problem that is aquarium fish keeping would be, that there are so many variables and certainly opinions and declarations of experience to re-enforce the proof which claims this to be a most inexact science.

Having scared you right off straight out of the gate, I shall answer your question with a recently commonmand fairly inexpensive route to take.