Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Too many snails

Started by newfish, July 10, 2007, 04:59:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

newfish

I am a newbie!

I bought used gravel from SuperPet a few months ago for my 10gal tank. There were about 4 or 5 snails in the gravel.  Since then the snails have multiplied and I have several dozen in my tank.  What do I do?  Are they harming my tank in any way?

MikeM

They're probably pond snails, in which case they may eat your plants.  If they are brownish with a football-shaped shell, you've got pond snails.  If they have long spiral shells, they're Malaysian Trumpet snails, which are harmless and help to keep your gravel moving.  I had a pond snail plague when I first set up my tank, and 3 clown loaches took care of them very quickly, but a 10 gal would be far to small for clown loaches which grow to 10"+.  Maybe some other loach experts could suggest a smaller loach that eats snails, but your best bet is probably to sink a slice of cucumber or zucchini around lights out and come back when your lights come up and scoop up the piece of veg and the many many snails that will be attached to it.  It won't wipe them out, but it will keep them manageable.

kennyman

Personally I like snails in my tanks. Sure some are prettier than others but besides algae they also eat detritus such as excess food, fish poop and dead plant material. Some people like sterile tanks, others like it a bit on the wild side. Its mostly a personal preference.

fishycanuck

I like snails too - I never have to scrape algae off my glass any more. Mind you, my plants are plastic.  ;)

succinctfish