Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

New to OVAS and to the Marine life

Started by Rox, April 25, 2007, 03:08:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rox

Hey everyone!  Well glad to see such a good site based in the Ottawa Valley! 

I am fairly new to the Saltwater hobby (6 months) and have just recently upgraded from 25g saltwater FOWLR to a 46 gallon bow setup (I believe it's 46 gallons -- aquarium and stand was given to me, but saw one just like it at Walmart).  My new setup will hopefully become more a reef tank than FOWLR.  I have just purchased T5 lighting and will be looking into some corals for beginners.

Like many, I made some mistakes along the way....with the one that I surely learned from is not having a quarantine tank (had a nice sixline wrasse and added 2 clowns 2 months later -- clowns were not well and so everyone in the tank died)! 

Can anyone tell me where is the best place to get LR in the area (not too pricy)?

charlie

Hi Rox, welcome to this wonderful community  ;), i`m not a salty but there are a couple of folks on this site , that good deals can be had ( live rock etc.) redbelly & ray are 2 that readily comes to mind.
Regards
http://ovas.ca/index.php?topic=16122.0

http://ovas.ca/index.php?board=18.0

beowulf

Welcome, sounds cool.  I only have a small 8.8G nano reef but marine is cool and the people on the marine board here are a great source of information.

sniggir

great to have ya aboard! Redbelly, Az, Ray all carry SW gear at great prices Redbelly is great guy to talk to about aquascaping, and can give ya hints on how to go the DIY route so you can save some money lighting and such.

90 gallon/ 90 gallon sump all male show tank, 75g Accie, 75g masoni reef alonacara, yellow lab and trio of flame backs, 75 gal tawain reef, 75 gal bi500, red shoulder, blue regal,