Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Green Botias - any experts?

Started by zima, August 31, 2007, 01:30:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zima

Hi all,

A few questions to all the experts on loaches. I never had them and thought I might as well start trying them out. The Green Botias are on special this week at BA Innes, and they look very cute (at least on the internet). I know that loaches could be rather aggressive, but I am hearing very mixed stories from people. My roommate, for one, keeps clown loaches in a community tank, and everybody seems to be getting along just fine.

Would it be a good addition to a community tank? Should they be kept in groups (how many)? A silly question, but do all loaches (including the green ones) eat snails? Any particular substrate is better, in a sense of fine vs. rough? Anything else I should reconsider before purchasing them?

cheers
anton

DavidJohnson

I am not an expert but I believe those 'green botias' I believe are Tiger Botias (http://www.loaches.com/species-index/syncrossus-hymenophysa) and not only do they get fairly large (10") they must be kept in groups and are quite agressive.  I saw that BA Innes special and unfortunately that is going to mean a lot of unsuspecting people are going to take these fish home and not know what they are in for.  If you have a large tank (minimum 4' 75/90g or preferably larger) and don't have any small bottom fish that can't defend themselves or other small or slow fish then go for it, but otherwise I'd stay away from them.

zima

Wooooowie, that was one heck of an eye-opener!  :o

Any suggestions for loaches in community tanks? Besides the clown loaches (everybody loves the clown loaches...)

babblefish1960