Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

White spots on face of my Blood parrot

Started by renadia, September 18, 2007, 12:37:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

renadia

One of my BP has many white spots on it's face, they seem like grouved in, the second one has a few and the smallest is OK. Any idea?
Have seen on the Net that white spots on BP could mean the water is to cold, I have started the heater and water is at 78 for a week but spots are still there. :-\

Laura

Do BP's get Hole in the Head (HITH)?  I know angles and oscars are more prone.
You may want to google it and see if it looks right.
700 gal pond - Rosy reds

KLKelly

Yes - definitely research hole in the head.  I'm sure cichlid experts will have lots of good advice on this!!!!!  I have zero experience with HITH.

Check and see if its best treated with medication in the tank water or medicated food or a combination of both.  I think a metronidazole based medication is whats recommended.

If you need metro-med (bought at mops.ca) - let me know and I can sell you some of my supply.  I just bought it end of last month to treat a fish with bloat.  I think I have some spare metro+ you can have also.  I didn't it very much (until my pure metro came in) because it didn't tell me what was in it - I heard it may just be a mixture of metronidazole and salt.

Regards,

Karrie

BigDaddy

Pitted spots on the head definately sounds like hole in the head.  Although common in discus and oscars... it can affect most cichlids.  Google "hole in the head" or "head and lateral line erosion" (the official name of the disease) for treatment.

Or just go to a local store that carries Metro... and follow the dosing directions on the product.

renadia

Quote from: KLKelly on September 18, 2007, 01:23:57 PM
Yes - definitely research hole in the head.  I'm sure cichlid experts will have lots of good advice on this!!!!!  I have zero experience with HITH.