Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

New aquarium for pond goldfish

Started by cemantic, October 24, 2007, 03:26:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cemantic

Hello,

I am new to OVAS.  My wife and I are setting up a 110 gallon tank to house our nine goldfish from the pond we built this summer.  Always wanted to do this so the cost is worth it.  I didn't like the flimsy stands that were available and ended up building one following DarkDep's DIY.  Thank you for that DarkDep it worked out well.  Pics to follow.

I have a RENA Filstar XP 3 Canister Filter(175 gallons per hour), up and running with bio rings in it and the standard charcoal that came with the filter, a Tetra Whisper 100 Air Pump with two Penn Plax Bubble Disk 3" which create two columns of bubbles.  Is this air pump with the bubble disks setup okay with Goldfish?

A problem I am coming up with is the bubbles when they hit the surface they roll off to the sides and when they burst they are constantly sending up microscopic drops of water that pop up 3-4 inches.  My problem is I built the canopy with 6 T5 54W tubes that are only about 4.5 inches above the water.   The solution I guess is glass below the tubes to prevent water getting on them.  Even with that has anyone ever had any problems with the moisture when using ballasts and fluorescent tubes?  Since all aquariums have them then I assume that they don't.  Is there anything I should avoid?  Any suggestions?

The next question is if I just used air stones and avoided the bubbling air would that big of a tank get enough oxygen with just airstones?  I do like the look of the columns of air and would like to keep them.

I filled the tank with about half tap water and treated it and let it sit then added the other half from the pond.  Is the bio rings in the filter enough, again for the size of the tank and the number of goldfish?  There are four 6-8 inch ones and five 3-5 inch ones?