Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Mushroom questions

Started by FISHEYE, January 15, 2008, 01:57:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FISHEYE

I have various mushroom rocks in my tank, all of them who seem to be doing well. I am new to SW and a few questions have come to mind, following the behavior/appearance of some of my mushrooms. From my understanding, its normal for them to expand, some of them even elevate (as if they had a small stem) and move along the rock.

I have some really great purple/green mushrooms on a rock, the size of toonies on average, but some have expanded to mush larger than that, but less lately. Is it normal for mushrooms to go through cycles? Certain of these mushrooms have faded in colour slightly and aren't "stretching" like they used to, while on the same rock some of the mushrooms look fine (is that normal?).

Aside from that, I have two rocks with smaller mushrooms that tend to seem happy one day, and not so much the other. Finally, my last mushroom rock has large mushrooms that seem extremely healthy.

This is probably normal but you guys have more experience. I have to note that I do a 20% water change about once a week (or so) and top off my water about once a day with Culligan water. None of them are in the shade.

sniggir

could you give us some specs on your tank... you my need to boost your nutrients, or you may have to much light for them, let us know what you feed your tank, and what elements you may add to it aswell..

Pat
90 gallon/ 90 gallon sump all male show tank, 75g Accie, 75g masoni reef alonacara, yellow lab and trio of flame backs, 75 gal tawain reef, 75 gal bi500, red shoulder, blue regal,
40 gal breeder  F1 electric blue frierei, 25 gal sunshine peacock males awaiting females, 20 gallon trio albino pleco, 65gal neolamprongus Brachardi pulcher 2 30g fry grow out, 20g hatchery with 4 batches of eggs currently