Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Newbie question about plant control

Started by Marinus, October 03, 2008, 10:45:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marinus

Hello planters,

I'm new to everything FW, you may have caught my thread about starting a 30G planted tank for my 5 year old son in the FW forum. We would really like to have a planted tank and we saw some beautiful tanks here already!

cemantic
http://ovas.ca/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=30881.0;attach=24472;image

Fishnut
http://ovas.ca/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=30874.0;attach=24539;image

I was just wondering how one would go about keeping the plants from overtaking the tank? Would one pruning plants? How about moss? I guess it all depends on what type of plants/light/setup etc... etc... What I'm hoping for are some easy to keep plants that won't really over take the tank. I noticed for example that the plants in Fishnut's tank showed rapid growth (see reply 10,11: http://ovas.ca/index.php?topic=30874.0). How much work goes into plant control for these types of tanks?

Thanks!

Serge

charlie

Hi Serge, plant control will depend on the type of plant & set up, some plants are stem plants that will need trimming from time to time, the type of set up ( lighting etc. )will dictate how often, so a low light tank will result in minimal trimming.

The other type that propagate by runners can be controlled by simply removing them, again the set up & type of plant will dictate frequency( low light less maintenance ) .
Regards

Marinus

Thank you,

I thought about getting a 30G because I have a spare 36" Aqualight. However, this light apparently not that good for FW. So, now that the light is out, Im thinking a 20G setup would be just fine.

Laura helped me with a list of some relatively easy plants to start out with in another thread:

Quote from: Laura on October 01, 2008, 01:02:47 AM