Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

New to Aquariums

Started by Girlie, October 15, 2008, 08:49:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Girlie

Hello Everyone
I am totally new to aquariums and don't have my own... yet... but have found myself drawn to them for as long as I can remember.  I think I first fell in love with them when I visited the Baltimore Aquarium, and my interest has grown from there.  I am looking into starting a saltwater reef aquarium, which is how I found this site, but am unsure as to how to start.  There are so many different things to take into consideration that I am not even aware of, and I am not always sure about the validity of internet sources.  If anyone has any tips or suggestions that might help me out, they would be much appreciated.  :)

Brine

Welcome to the club. I don't do salt myself but there is a recent thread asking the same question right here.
http://ovas.ca/index.php?topic=31127.0

dan2x38

Hi welcome nice to meet you. This is a great website with tons of information & experience. But like Brine said I can't help you I don't do salt... LOL Check out the Saltwater section under the forums. I recall a member Sniger created a post on the basics of setting-up a SW tank.

Good luck hope you enjoy our community and your interest grows. Any questions post in the SW section I'm sure you'll get lots of sound advice.
Voltaire:
"I may not agree with what you have to say,
but I'll defend to the death your right to say it."

KLKelly

You will be doing a ton of reading.  I had been taking care of freshwater tanks for two years before we set up a small salt water tank.  We did about two months of reading before we bought anything.

Girlie

Thanks I will check those out!