Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

30 gallon project for my 5 year old son

Started by Marinus, October 01, 2008, 12:20:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marinus

Hello my new fish friends,

I'm new to FW setups and livestock and could really use some help with these questions:

1. I would really like some plants but fear they would be high maintenance. Are there plants that are relatively easy to keep and can do well with low lighting? If there are some, what would I need?

2. Continuing on the first question, could you suggest some relatively easy, hardy and inexpensive fish for this type of environment.

3. How long would it take before I could expect to add some plants and fish to the tank from time its setup.

4. I know there are some great deals now and then in the classifieds here. What would be a reasonable expectation to get something like this going (I'm not in a hurry, I can wait for a good deal to come around).

5. And last but not least, based on these questions, could someone please be so kind as to share with me some online references to articles on "setting up your first fresh water _____ plant/_____fish tank"?

Thanks everyone!  :)

Laura

Don't be afraid of plants.  There are lots of easy ones that do well in low light (and often available at the auctions!)  Java fern, java moss, anubius and african fern all do well under low light conditions and need to be attached to driftwood or stone (wood works better IMO).  They are great for starting out.

For starting out, one of the first things you need to understand is the cycling process.  My favourite description is by luvfishies who used to spend time on this forum. Here's a link to her description (3rd post down) http://www.fishinthe.net/html/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10343&start=15&sid=6e8544ef08a47c6da7a7a9d6606ebfc9