Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

sump suggestions/input

Started by Snider82, September 22, 2009, 08:34:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Snider82

i was thinking of changing my sump a little bit.  i like the idea of having a "fuge?"  for extra live rock (going to have extra to hide in there)
and i am trying to plan an easy change to my sump to accommodate. 

Here is the setup at the moment.   the pump section is about 12" wide and the sections are around 6-8 inch's. 

and here is what i plan on..  the fuge is on the left... is that a bad thing?   is it ALOT better to have it on the right side?

any input would be great!
Thanks

Rybren

I'm just a noob, but from what I've read on WWM, RC, and elsewhere, the general consensus seems to be that the skimmer should be in the first section and fed raw, untreated water.

Again, just passing on what I've read - I don't have a sump or fuge - yet  ;D
120G Reef

mikerobart

Snider82

ahh,  i kinda figured that..  the above diagram has the return technically in the first part...  what i wanted with that photo is the water from the DT to dump into the skimmer zone - overflow to the pump zone... and the pump to pump water to the DT and Fuge zone.    the fuge will then overflow to the skimmer......

this would be the easiest way to modify my sump.... without pulling all the baffles out....  if its bad i guess i will have to do so.

Snider82

or... maby have the fuge in the middle?   then really i wouldnt have to pump water to the fuge.. it would just be part of the sump.....   

more idea's?

thanks!@

Vincenzo.

fuge = bad idea with live rock and sand
^it's to hard to clean out
fuge = macro algae

sump = is for live rock

Snider82

ahh ok.    i dont plan on using macro algae for now..... but eventually i might want to add it..   maby then ill just add a 5-10g tank beside my sump when i decide to add macro algae

Vincenzo.