Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Moving a tank, what to do?

Started by Maxthecat, September 23, 2009, 12:38:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Maxthecat

Hey, im moving to my new appartement in about a week or so and ill have to move my 30g reef. Ive been reading up and im not quite satisfied with what I found. I dont have a sump and quarantin tank, so everything has to go back in the same tank. Im a student so I dont have any money to buy a quarantine for the move... sucks to be poor.

My plan is this: keep about 60% of the water, Ive been told to rince the sand and put it back gradualy in the tank (?) by my LFS, I was intialy planning to just use 50% of my sand and throw the rest out to avoid the cycle.

Is this a good plan? what should I not do? what do you guys have to say?

Vincenzo.

drain all the water but a couple inches into a rubber maid or 2 or 3. put the rock in one, coral in the other, and inverts/fish in the third.

By leaving 2''-5' inches in the tank u can leave all the sand and let it swirl around.

After u get in ur new place drain that grimy water out and add everything back

Just remember to have a 10 gallons of ro water made. Cuz after u set up do a small water chance.'

Maxthecat

but will moving the sand like that releasse the phosphats that were absorbed in it, creating a cycle?

Vincenzo.

that build up is what u want. Unless u want to start ur tank from scratch with new sand and old rock, it will still have to cycle anyways.

Normally people stir their sand bed 1-2 times a month anyways to keep it 'clean' some people dont, but i try to.

Maxthecat

i guess my starfish is doing that all the time

mikerobart

That is how I moved my 29g.. what Vince said. Few rubbermaids, keep as much water as possible, leave the sand in the tank. I added my fish right back in.... and topped off water, didn't lose anything except one fish because I dropped a rock on him!