Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Reef Octopus 160 Help

Started by KrazieCanuck, April 26, 2010, 08:53:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KrazieCanuck

Hello all, I'm new to the "In-sump" skimmer idea but I don't think my Reef Octopus 160 is doing what it should be doing.  I've moved from a 55g tank to a 90g tank a few months ago (2.5 months) and setup my sump.  My skimmer still isn't producing skimmate and the bubbles are very low in the collection column.  I've adjusted the hieght of it several times (now in 9inches of water), I've cleaned it maybe twice in the few months with just water.  I've tried with the output water spout being submerged and also not being submerged.  The only thing that seemed to come somewhat close to having the bubbles reach the top was turning the output 90 degree spout upside down and having the thing about 3/4 closed.  When I look in at the bubles they are small and white, not very scummy looking at all.

I can't for the life of me figure it out.  Is it possible that I just don't have enough bioload to get any skimmate in my tank?  I only have 4 fish in there, 3 shrimp, lots of hermits and snails and some corals.  Maybe my cleanup crew is doing a hell of a job?

Any ideas?

Thanks!

ordi260

Hi!

Mmm... Imo the output should not be turned upwards...it could end up with too much backpressure.

Im still fiddling with my ricirc 110 its not in sump but anyway...here is what ive done: adjust skimmer input ball valve and output so there is no huge bubbles coming out of the output. (For me ball valve halfway and output almost closed (adjust it with REALLY small increments. My water height is just before the cone on top of the skimmer (pic available if you want).  Wait a couple of hours or a day...there should be a nice head of foam forming and slowly crawl to the top!