Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

my tank is overpopulated... :S

Started by littlelil, October 11, 2005, 12:07:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

littlelil

Hi!

This is my first time on the discussion board, and it just so happens that there was a recent discussion about ID sharks. This is excellent becuase now i know that someone is going to want to shoot me for what i'm doing to my poor babies.... ultimately, i just want some advice...

Here it goes...
I have 3 ID sharks. They were bought at the Barrhaven SP about a year ago and they were quite small (and on sale.. babies, maybe?). I was [definately definately definately] warned about the out-growing of the tank, but wanted the sharks anyway since i had a few before but they all died, but one. Surprisingly, though, the last one lived for several more months, until my tank was wiped out by a bad case of Ick. My family hates them, but I love my ID sharks to a million pieces and i want them to be happy and grow to as big as possible!

My question is if it's time to upgrade to a larger tank, and what will happen if i don't?

Two Rainbow sharks  ~3+ inches long each
Three ID sharks  ~3 inches long each
six tiger barbs ~1inch each
two siamese algae eaters <1inch each
one kuhli loach (i think)
three red-eye tetras ~1inch each
one random thing that eats stuff at the bottom of the tank ~1inch (it was given to me... long story)

Now, i KNOW the general rule is to give each inch of fish at least one gallon of water, so technically they should be in a tank that's at least 30gallons.  Well heres the sad part... :oops:

All these fish reside in a 20-gallon tank. The water level stays about 2-3 inches from the top to prevent jumpers becuase i don't have a lid, so it's actually much less than 20gallons of water