Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Curing live rock in existing tank

Started by ccra18, March 01, 2013, 12:37:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ccra18

Hi,

I had a reef tank for almost a year and I recently closed it down. This was my first saltwater tank. I just sold all of my fish, corals and invertebrates and all I have left is my live rock and live sand which I am planning to sell as soon as the rock is ready and clean. I was away for some time and when I came back some of the rocks had hair algae.
My plan is to simply turn off the lights and do some water changes... I am new in the hobby so I was wondering if someone could please tell me or guide me on what would be the best thing to do to clean the rock in order to sell it later on. Unfortunately, I just sold my Ro-Di unit and skimmer about to go. :P
I have lots of buckets if its easier to transfer them..I just want to make sure all algae dies too but I want to make sure some of the organisms in the rocks remain. Also, what can I do for the sand?

Thank you for all of your help!

Chris

NjOyRiD

the goal is to remove nutrients
so try not having lights, and do a lot of water chnages

if doesnt work, use GFO in a reactor to strip phosphates from your water column
370g System

220g tank, 65g Sump. octopus Cone skimmer xp-5000, vertex zf-30 nitrate reactor, RX6 DUO Ca reactor, Mp60w Ecotech pump, 2x 400w MH XM bulbs 15k. All controlled with DA RKE-net controller, Water Blaster HY-3000 return pump, Vertex Zf-15/Carbon, Vertex Zf-15/GFO

Feivel