Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Missing fishes

Started by apuppet, October 27, 2006, 12:50:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

apuppet

Please excuse my ignorance, i am new to the hobby, and have only gotten my first tank about 2.5 months ago. its fully cycled, after alot of reading from this board.  I've even built my 90Gallon stand using instructions from this forum.  this place is a excellent resource.

my tank consist of fancy guppies and 4 female betta, 2 neon tetra, 3 caged males betta, 7 ottacats and 8 zebra danio (cycling fish), a clown loach.  as of late my fish have been disappearing.  i am uncertain where they disappear to, the wooden lid is tight (built using this forum), checked 404 filter, nothign there.   i'm down to 2 zebra's, and 3 ottacats, yestersday, my only male guppy had his fancy tail fins completely missing, today, a female guppy was dead and floating, with centre part of her tail fin missing.     the Only "New" addition was the clown loach, which is VERY lazy and does not seem to be eating the snail which i've purchased him for.

i dont know whats happening to my fishy, problem seems to happen in the middle of the night, and Since yesterday, i've finally see bodies otherwise. its completely missing.   there was fish scales while i was cleaning my tank. but whom would be eating my fishes?  :(

thanks in advance,
planted

darkdep

First of all, welcome to the forum!  And don't apologize, this forum exists for everyone to learn and share experiences...there are no egos here.

I suspect as you do that something is eating your fish.  Have you tested your water recently to see if there is an environmental problem?  Many fish will eat others that are freshly dead if the opportunity arises.

RoxyDog

I'll put my money on one of the 4 female bettas...
Tanks: salty nano cube, working on a fresh 125