Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

turning my 55 into a community fish tank.

Started by 93GTCANADA, March 03, 2007, 06:15:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

93GTCANADA

ok im pretty new to freshwater. i just dont have the time with my fishtank anymore so i am selling all the lifestock in it. now what equipement should i keep and what to sell. my powerheads are way to powerful for a fw tank right ? i want to buy a canister filter but know nothing about them which ones are good. i was looking at the renas but they are very expensive. and how big should i go ? the fluval 305 are nice to but again very expensive. im going to the auction tomorrow to pick up a few things so hopefully i can pick up enough stuff to get me started. also my lights that i have right now have atinics will this harm freshwater tanks ?  it is a coralife fixture. i dont like yellow lights that is why i want to keep my atinics. other then that any other advice for me.

missmandy

go with eheim filters...better in the long run! and depending on your fish some dont like strong current so i would look into that.

PoisonJello

well it might be easier to sell all your s/w stuff as a package with the tank and just start new with the freshwater sell all then go bigger with the freshwater maybe a 90g but thats just what i would do  ;)

you can probably use most of your stuff with freshwater and if you don't have a lot to spend on a filter just get an aquaclear 110 HOB filter around $80... 2 powerheads would be lots for a 55g I think but some of the other on here have a lot more experience then me, so i'm sure you will get some great info on what to do

Toss