Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Just moved back from Oz.

Started by Funkmotor, August 20, 2007, 11:58:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Funkmotor

Hi there everybody.  I'm a former Ottawa resident of 10 years (originally from Labrador) that moved to Sydney Australia just over 5 years ago.

While there I was a member of MASS (Marine Aquarium Society of Sydney) and was getting ready to set up my first large S/W tank before getting a transfer back here.

So I had to sell everything up (different electrical system) and I'm looking to make a new start.

I've kept F/W for a long time, and I've done a lot (a pile) of research and I've seen heaps of tanks, so I think I'm ready.  I hope.

I suppose the one big thing I'm having a hard time with is how inexpensive (read: cheap) livestock is here.  As an example, $20 bucks for a Redline cleaner is just shocking.  In Sydney - and this is no word of a lie - you can expect to pay $80 to $150 for one of them...and that's when you can get them, because they can be hard to come by.  There are regular group buys on the MASS site to bring them in.  And don't get me started on Bloods...or $15 for a blueleg hermit.  You'd think things would be less expensive simply because the largest reef in the world is right there, but it doesn't work that way.

I'm going to set up two 20gal QT tanks initially in a cool, dark part of the house and then I believe there's going to be a 150 or 200 gallon display with sump/fuge/rdsb and a benthic zone.  I've got the spot for it all picked out.

I have given it a great, great deal of thought.  Right down to a deep-cycle battery system for power outages to keep the tank alive through that inevitability.