Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

For the love of Betta's

Started by KatarinaH, November 01, 2007, 09:58:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KatarinaH

The very first fish we (NetCop & I) bought for my daughter was a male betta. We've been buying betta's ever since.

I thought after failing miserably with betta's that it would be the end of our betta buying for the sake of the poor fish.

Then a friend of mine who tried her hand at aquariums and decided they weren't for her told me that I could have her Plecos and female betta otherwise her husband was going to put them in the Ottawa river.  :o

Needless to say I rescued her from that and took her into my community tank.

She was named Betty and is the girl you see in my avatar.

Being a novice I quickly went to Big Al's and found a male betta who's colours matched Betty's and named him Boop. (NetCop calls him "The Boy" as Boop is appearently too feminine for a pink male betta with purple and red speckles) I thought he was being far too aggresive for my taste and seperated him into his own little emerald garden tank.

Eventually I found another girl I fell in love with again she was pink like Betty before her. But I had gotten kicked out of a popular pet store for pointing out that they were killing hundreds of livestock creatures due to neglect and cleaned out all of thier dead fish. Needless to say since I got kicked out of thier I couldn't buy the newest female betta I had fallen in love with.

NetCop went back to the store for me and bought the fish as it was not him kicked out it was me. I happily put her in my tank and enjoyed knowing that she would not be one of the ones that would die of neglect/starvation/disease at a Big Box Store's hand. Wanting a name that went well with Betty(being as Boop is already taken) I decided to call her Veronica or Ronnie for short.