Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Building a 90gal Marine tank on a $1500.00 budget.

Started by LowKey, April 29, 2005, 11:42:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LowKey

It all started with an impulsive purchase of a 90Gal tank at Big Al's.  I just couldn't resist!  I actually wanted the 75gal but once I realized the 90 gal was priced the same, I said to myself "$169.00, why not".  Now I look back and say to myself "how naive".  

A little-bit about myself:
I'm no Reef Geek that's for sure. But I've been dabbling with a 50gal marine aquarium for 3 years.  I understood the basics and could keep my inhabitants happy.  At the same time, I cut corners on the system.  But that's how most start out.  I'm not gonna drop $6K at big Al's to find out I don't like saltwater tanks.  But as I carry out this 90 Gal project I find myself absorbing new information all the time.  Purchasing, planning, building, and solving conflicts within your plans forces you to study and learn everything you can before making the next move.  I wasn't going to make a thread related to my project.  but after reviewing all the planning docs, I concluded that my templates may be of use to others who plan on building a complex system of any scenario.  My other intension is to help fellow aquarium enthusiasts build the confidence to take on such a project.  I'm no A+ student believe me LOL.  Enjoy!  :wink:  

After the build list was assembled I broke down the contents into two categories; Build Myself and Retail Purchases.  Retail purchasing is self-explanatory; get the items at the best possible price using all available recourses.  (Resources provided at the end of thread)

Take a look at the price list attachment below