Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

suffering african

Started by pworthing, January 22, 2009, 01:14:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pworthing

I just recently moved a tank of africans (125G).    Sorry I am still learning the species names.
Everything went well until 2 days after when 1 medium sized fish (saulosi shape, female acei I believe) bloated up in a matter of hours and is left lying on it's side unable to swim.     I have it resting in a net on it's side and wonder if there is anything I can do?    Scales are pushed out and it is really Fat with no way to rest upright.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated.   I was thinking of a hospital tank but I don't know what to heal it with.
I wondered if it was simply scared into shock at first, but now I don't want to leave it in the net much longer in case it hurts the others.
125G - Mixed Africans

Groovylad

This sounds like bloat which one of the causes is stress and others being adding too much salt and improper feeding.  Here is a good link to finding out more and possibly treating this.

http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/malawi_bloat.php

Good luck and hopefully all goes well...

pworthing

thanks, lots of good info there.
I had been thinking about bloat, but was told it took longer to develop than a few hours.
However, having a great dane, I know it can happen with no warning in dogs, so why not in fish too.

She seems to be hanging on for now.  I will try to pick up one of the recommended medicines.

I did put a piece of romaine lettuce in there the day before.  Maybe she had more than she should have.

Thanks again
125G - Mixed Africans

KLKelly

If you think its malawi bloat - use metronidazole.  The web admin used it (got some from his vet) on a cichlid and it worked.  I've used it once for a bloated goldfish and it also worked.