Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Noisy, Bubbly Marineland C360

Started by Daisy, February 27, 2010, 08:42:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Daisy

Hello there,

Today, I bought my first canister filter (Marineland C360) for my 90 gallon tank.  I have no experience with canister filters, so followed the directions slavishly, to get it going. 

It started up fine and is running... but it's noisy. Specifically, it whooshes and sputters every few seconds as air bubbles seem to be expelled through the hoses.

Another OVAS member who has been very helpful has suggested that, since I did not fill the canister with water before priming it to start (the instructions did not tell me to fill the canister, first...), that the air in the media and canister is being expelled and that this will take awhile.  I'm really hoping that's all it is.

Anyone else had the whooshing / sputtering problem?  Are there solutions out there?  Thought there'd be no harming in asking the group, too...

Entirely possible that I've done something wrong... and hope I can fix it if so. 
Because otherwise, I can't sleep for all the noise!

Thanks, all.

Daisy.

Funkmotor

If it's not taking air in somehow, then it's only expelling what's in there.

So, yeah, probably nothing to worry about.

If you give it a bit of a shake now and then, it will go quicker.

Daisy

Thanks for this - yes, the other OVAS member gave me this advice too.  Am a bit worried though,  since it's been over 2hrs and it's still sputtering quite a bit, with no apparent end in sight.

Will keep giving it small shakes... and hope it clears up.

Guess I should have filled it with water before turning it on in the first place... !

Daisy

And I can't imagine where it could be taking IN air... the hoses are tight, the canister itself is sealed, so.... 

Hrmph.

jetstream

Few things you could try: