Meeting location for the 2024/2025 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Digital Aquatics SL2 Recall

Started by Malyon18, February 07, 2012, 08:35:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Malyon18

This may be handy for some people who have bee getting wonky readings from their salinity probes

http://www.digitalaquatics.com/news/SL2

First and foremost, I want to convey that it's our intention to provide customers with great products that work as advertised! As everyone knows, the SL2 has been an ongoing issue for us here at DA and we've been unable to satisfy our standards when it comes to this product. While it may, from the outside, look as if we aren't working on the issue, I can assure everyone that that is not the case. In fact, it's been a topic of each and every engineering meeting that we've had for the last year and a half.

As a hobbyist, I've personally been unhappy with our ability to produce this module to the level that I would expect for equipment that I would want to use on my own tank. But, as an engineer and DA employee, I've seen the struggles, the tests the successes and the failures of the project from the beginning and I can assure you that our lack of communication has not been because we don't care! We do care. From our testing and learning through this process, we've seen a number of concerning things in "other" products performance, claims, and documentation. We want to provide better hardware than the "others", period!

Today, I'm excited to let everyone know that we have a final hardware design which we have been able to test to the extent that satisfies our standards. Better yet, we have a probe that mates with this new design very well and has also proven itself to be reliable, long term.

Now, the question that everyone is asking: how are we going to resolve this with our customers? The answer is: as simply as possible!

What about warranty issues and the parts that have been sent in and are waiting for service?