New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

New to OVAS

Started by Reefguy, November 08, 2012, 06:48:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Reefguy

Hello all. Well I am new to the OVAS and I was thrilled to see all the great information you all have. I have joined other sites that give in best little to no help at all. Once I got here I was amazed. OK so I have a 5 gallon setup with live plants (2 anubias, 1 money worth and a massive marimo ball) I also have some driftwood in there as well. I use an aqua clear 20 as a filter with a pre filter sponge on the intake tube. I use black aquarium rock substrate with black background. I have a 50w heater that I will be downgrading to a 25 watt eventually. The live stock that I have is currently two crystal red shrimps and 7 neon tetras. Had this set up for about 3 months now.

I also just purchased my first cool looking tank with a Fluval Edge 6gallon tank. I am and have been re searching the Salt/reef set-ups, how to, and everything needed to make a reef/salt water tank. I know what I need for the most part. I will be ordering some live rock (maybe 5 pounds), some live sand, a salt water treated water for the first attempt then gonna buy the salt and do my own mixtures. I know the fundamentals as in you must wait a good 6-8 weeks before introducing the live stock. I will be getting the salt water test kit also the apparatus that tells you where your salt level is at. I also know to do water changes every 4 to a week with it.

I still need lots of information that I have no doubt will find on this site. So I am happy to be part of this OVAS and hope to hear from you all and thanks.

Reefguy

sas

Hi and welcome to the forum portion of OVAS. :)
Sounds like you've got a good start.
Feel free to post your tanks in the Freshwater Tank Builds forum
and also the Saltwater Tank Builds forum when you start the salt.

We all like to drool over new setups.

Darth